What's your least important piece of gear?

Lucky Pucker

I'm curious.

Always lots of great conversation around most important/personal gear (trappers and C/As esp), but what is your least important piece of gear?

For example, what could you just borrow from any other goalie who is same-size, same-handed, and not even notice?

Similarly, what do you spend the least amount of money on, and/or the least amount of time researching and shopping?

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply
11 minutes ago, seagoal said:

Corollary question: if you had to choose 1 piece of gear to play without for 1 game, what would it be?

For me: jock.

You're a nutter. Even if you don't get hit there, just knowing that the boys are vulnerable like that is such a shake in the confidence that I may as well play behind the net.

For me, it's either jock or neckguard. I've been using the same ones for both for the past 7-8 years.

I've never been too choosey about pants. If they fit me and they're black, I'm happy. The only pants I've ever had a problem with were a pair of Kohos that were simply too large. I went back to an *ancient* pair of Don Simmons pants from when I was 14, and I was fine. I may have gotten an extra bruise here or there, but they worked for me, despite being from 2002.

Having said that, I got a nice pair of Tackla's a few years ago, and I'm quite pleased with them. 

19 minutes ago, coopaloop1234 said:

You're a nutter. Even if you don't get hit there, just knowing that the boys are vulnerable like that is such a shake in the confidence that I may as well play behind the net.

For me, it's either jock or neckguard. I've been using the same ones for both for the past 7-8 years.

Ha, fair enough.

But, the likelihood of getting hit in the nuts is slim. Most shots come head on, so we're more likely to get hit in the pecker which is way better than the nuts.

It would be horrible,  for sure. But I'll take that probability if I had to choose.