new set

maxt27

@maxt27 - Welcome and thanks for joining.  I would look for some used PRO level gear if you are of the appropriate height. From personal experience, Brian's gear holds up very well. I believe Vaughn and CCM do well too. Do you have any experience playing goalie at all? Do you know if you want a stiff pad or a soft one?

i haven’t played on a organized team, but i’m a good skater, and i play street hockey a lot. I also play on a dek team, since i was still learning to skate last year. I have played as a defensemen all my hockey time, and i started playing goalie with my friends  lot, and really liked it, more than i liked defense.i am going to be doing goalie clinics until next october when the season starts, however, and i am looking for soft pads. and i am 5’10/5’9 (abt the PRO used gear). Thanks for responding!

If you're just starting out, definitely check your local Craigslist and Letgo (assuming you live in an area where hockey is popular). Usually some good gear to be found at negotiable prices. This is a great forum, so feel free to post links to your finds. People are usually more than happy to reply with advice (so I've found). Good luck!

8 hours ago, keeperton said:

You're 14 and taller than me already, sheesh.

My main concern is to be wary of dropping too much money on gear that you might quickly outgrow.

14 and already the same height as me too:facepalm:.  He'll probably be taller than my by Christmas.  Same shit happen with my nephew.  I wish I was at least 6'0.  Dammit.

2 hours ago, SaveByRichter35 said:

14 and already the same height as me too:facepalm:.  He'll probably be taller than my by Christmas.  Same shit happen with my nephew.  I wish I was at least 6'0.  Dammit.

I swear its all the hormones and shit they put in food these days. Same reason girls are D cups by age 12 nowadays. 

Of course this is complete speculation and I have absolutely nothing to back this up with. 

3 minutes ago, IPv6Freely said: