Let's Talk Skates

Yes- I did my "Cowlings!"  thread about my Cowling installation on my formerly cowlingless skates. I even went into why I delved back into cowlings. 

After my recent experience with cowlingless skates, I think that they are a SHAM. 

Examining the internals of my VH skates, I saw red padding in the toes; a much thicker version of the inner insoles is in the toes. I don't know what type of foam this is. Red padding in the toes may help the skate fit more snugly, but it does not make up extra cladding for protection.

I make my living from intact feet. After catching an ex-college (possibly?) shot in the ball of my foot, I was in a WORLD of PAIN. I have no way of knowing who shot at my feet; all I know is that I thought I had broken part of my bloody foot!!! I was scared that I was going to have to give up my side job for a few weeks; I NEED that side job!!!!

I am nearly 45 years old- don't need to be tough. I need to provide for myself and a chronically ill spouse. Being "tough" is what you tell a pro who is getting PAID to stop burning rubber at 108 mph.  I am not getting paid, nor should I be treated like one who gets paid!!!

I am back with a cowling. I may not move like I did without a cowling; who bloody well cares?!? I am protected. 

• Replies 345
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Bunnyman sad that this happened to you with your new VH 2 piece skates!