NEED HELP - Thigh Rise Reduction

BadAngle41

Going back to when I initially ordered my current pads (CCM Retroflex) I foresaw a day when my wide-ish butterfly would dump me for a younger guy and I went with a +2" thigh rise. This has proven to be a mistake given the construction of pads sitting so much higher on the boot... and causes noticeable interference when in the butterfly, VH, RVH... pretty much I'm always aware of it. I planned on sending out my pads to PAW (relatively local to me) for professional removal of 1"-1.25" ... but she is booked up with work and can't fit me in.

Given that I'll have 4-6 months before I play again (hopefully) I thought I'd use this time away from the ice productively. I have no experience opening up leg pads and confidently closing them back up. So I'm reaching out to YOU, the community at large, for your experiences in doing this mod. Please share any tools used, tips, tricks, gotchas... and especially pictures you may have of the process. 

My current plans include having the following at the ready for when I dive into this project...

• New Top (and bottom) Jenpro Bindings w/ waxed thread
  • Speedy Stitcher
  • Seam Ripper
  • Exacto-Knife
  • Willingness to Learn

Related... currently I have color matched Retro Tan Top and Bottom Jenpro Bindings... but I could go with Black instead (match knee bars and heel strap)... thoughts... (pardon the less than ideal color rendering on CCM's customizer)

image.png.696b3235754b86a050a599cae9728e9f.png    image.png.445364708f669d5bcceb1e6ab6e15579.png

Reduction is not that hard. It really, really isn’t. I have reduced thigh rises and trimmed boots. If a big ol’ dummy like me can do it, ANY one can do it. 

You will need sail thread, a good upholstering needle, scissors, permanent marker, ruler, tailor’s tape measure, new thigh trims (some call them bindings), seam ripper, some patience and styptic powder.