First in the room?

Lucky Pucker

So I have to admit that I can't claim total noob status anymore. Scouts are coming to my sessions, calling the house, sending pamphlets in the mail and stuff... it's a bit annoying, actually, but like y'know - first world problems, right?

Now that I have a few skates under my belt, I am starting to notice little things that are interesting to me. One of them has been that in my as-yet-limited experience, the goalies are always first in the room. For me, it started as a purely practical consideration since I had a shit-ton of gear to get on that I wasn't much familiar with, and I wanted to choose a seat close to the door so that I could get in and out without having to step over/around the carelessly strewn about paraphernalia of the skaters. In my lessons, the other goalie is there as early as me, a good 10-15 minutes before anyone else. When the first skater shows up, it feels  a bit like an intrusion, and the dynamic completely changes.

So I'm curious: is this a goalie thing? Are there any skaters who beat you into the room? Thoughts?

For my regular teams, I'm 90% the first one there. For teams I'm subbing for, I leave a bit later just to make sure i'm getting the right room. Last thing I need is to be there early, have some of the guys on the team I'm subbing on look at me and think they have the wrong room and set up shop elsewhere. I don't need to re-pack my gear and move rooms after the fact.

I'm usually the one entering the parking lot on 2 wheels, crashing into the room and working my way around the guys already dressed and on their way out of the locker room. 

But thats just me, I'll be late to my own funeral