New Knee guards Causing Pad "Squeeze-out" When Landing

qlopp

Hi,

I play goal occasionally at a low level, mostly pick-up.  I have been wearing Reebok 24K 34"+1" senior pads for about 3 years (purchased new).  I've been fairly comfortable playing in them until I changed knee guards last month.  I had been using bulky Bauer Supreme (senior) pads for max protection but wanted to try out something less bulky for comfort.  I went with CCM KP 1.5 (senior) about one month ago.  I've played four times since then, and now when I land in a butterfly or push into a slide my landing knee(s) tend to land towards the inside (away from the face of pads) of the landing pad area.  This usually causes the pads to "squeeze" outward and away from my knees, and also causes the pad faces to tilt upward about 5 - 10 degrees rather than facing the shooter squarely (laying flat, 90 degrees to the ice surface).  The added negative effect of this is as the pads land at an angle to the ice in butterfly position they tend to dig into the ice and stop the pad from sliding easily.  I can't recover like I'm used to because I'm falling out of the pads, or in other words the pads are squishing out away from me.

It would seem there may be a simple solution to this but I'll get to that in a moment.  So far I've tried four different combinations of either wearing the CCM knee guards over/under my sweat pants and taping them directly around their straps and/or taping around the outside of the sweat pants.  I doesn't feel I've made any progress though.  OTOH the good things are -- they are light knee pads and they never slip down.  I'd like to figure out a way to keep using these CCMs if possible.