Are you wearing a Cheever's Mask? Liner Safety

TheGoalNet

Are you wearing a Cheever's Mask? Liner Safety

image.png.11467749626f43c0fe101a4a56c1c147.png

Last night, I went to bed at my normal time and with the normal routine. I happened to check the wrong thread right before bed and it kept me up all night thinking. Unfortunately, TGN doesn’t pay and now I am just going to have an exhausted day at work…

Helmet safety is NOT something I am an expert on. None of us probably are. I think you need a PhD in physics / engineering or 30 years of experience in the industry to really be an expert on this subject. I think I can hold my own with the other goalie “prosumers” out there and I have tried to champion the cause on TheGoalNet’s social media.  It’s a topic I am always trying to learn more about and do anything I can to help the cause. I personally don’t think safety should have a premium price tag on it. 95% of goalies that ever strap on the pads are not going to get paid to wear them or earn college scholarships from them. It’s my opinion the industry needs to make sure everyone that loves hockey also has a proper quality of life.

This issue has boiled over at the NHL level. According to TSN, the NHL is finally going to conduct their own study. This will give the goalies some independent data outside of what their rep tells them or they could find in product marketing collateral.

Will this first generation of testing be perfect? Probably not. Will the “loser” of the study find areas to scrutinize the testing methods? You bet, get your popcorn ready. Is this a step in the right direction? Absolutely and I’m elated to see it. The NFL has been posting the VT 5 Star ratings in the NFL locker rooms for years and the NHL is behind by only rolling out their version now.

Marketing video from D3O, not the scientific test from the article