Advice on new skates

So I've been rocking my Bauer Pro skates for about 5 years now.  They were great up until late last year.  Now my feet hurt quite a bit when I wear them.  I've tried Superfeet and having them re-baked.  I'm getting bone growth on the front of my ankles (probably from lace bite).  Partly it has to do with my being about 40 lbs heavier than when I bought them, but I am so uncomfortable in them it is really affecting how I play.

I currently have Bauer One80 pads (though I'm thinking of changing them too) with no toe ties.  I'm looking at going to some newer skates that have the loop on the back of the boot.  Will some sort of toe tie be a necessity with using that loop or should I be okay?  I would try it without first and go from there.  I used to wear Toe Hook, but I found they didn't stretch quite far enough and were giving me knee and hip soreness.

I also have no real preference, but are cowlingless really any different/better than skates with cowlings?  I'm thinking I'd like to try a Graf boot and have my Vertexxx cowlings put on them.  

Long story short, what brand do you prefer and why?  What brand/model do you think would fit my extra wide feet?