Necessity of Extra Blades

Rfmusso

Looking to get thoughts from the group on if having an extra set of skate blades in your bag is necessary. 

My concern is more around blades breaking than performance/edges etc. I’ve never broken a blade before but I cringe every time I hit the post. 

Currently in CCM FT480s with the stock XSG1 blades after a decade+ in Bauer Reactor 1000s

Absolutely not necessary.  Smart insurance decision? Yes.  Will you be able to change them out if needed if you keep some on hand?  Yes.

I've been playing for 25+ years and have not once, ever, had to stop playing because of a blade issue. 

I do have an extra set but I keep them at home when playing.  I have them, well, because they came with the skates I bought, but, because I like to change them out every 3 weeks, playing 3 times a week.  I get both my sets sharpened together and I have one of those blue Bauer cases for mine.   It works great. 

I keep an extra set in my bag but not for emergencies- I send mine out for profiling/sharpening so always have two sets in rotation when one needs to get mailed out.  Your skate blades will probably be the last piece of equipment that would break in-game.  

I'm not sure which adjustment screw the FT480's use to secure the blade, but I'd suggest getting a set of the metal screws if yours uses the plastic ones.  One of mine on my old CCM's boke mid-game and my blade wouldn't stay secured in the skate.  

https://www.icewarehouse.com/CCM_SpeedBlade_XS_Holder_Adjustment_Screw_Kit/descpage-CSHRP.html

Nah, never felt needed honestly. 

I have an extra set of blades kicking around my garage (unsharpened), but that's only because getting replacement blades of my Tack cowling, in my size, was getting rare and I wanted to ensure I had a backup set to keep my skates going. 

I could see some use if you're playing travel hockey, or high tier hockey.

But for Beer League? I'll survive. 

56 minutes ago, coopaloop1234 said:

Nah, never felt needed honestly.