Do soft(er) skates have merit in this age of goaltending?

bildeer

Hello all,

I recently got back on the ice after about 9 months of inactivity (high ankle sprain, strained/sprained plantar fascia, bye-bye college season!) and came across some lightly used Graf G7500's on the net, and having heard so many good things about that particular model and decided to see what they were all about. I had been using the DM1080s for around four years now, and like them quite a bit. 

Upon receiving the G7500's, I noticed that they were significantly softer than the DM1080 in the quarter panel, which I thought was interesting (obviously newer models tend to be stiffer for several reasons). I got them on the ice this week and it felt like I had more ankle mobility and had a better feeling of what the skate was doing (impossible to quantify, I know).