Foam shortage

bunnyman666

I was chatting with one of my suppliers of repair/modding goods and he informed me that due to the pandemic, foam is becoming difficult to source. This person, who maybe makes 200 sets of gear per year, is finding himself being shut out of foam orders, in particular the HD foams. He, of course, uses premium Zote foams. But I imagine all foam manufacturers are affected right now.

I wonder how this will translate to us, the end user over the next 18 months? I am certain that the big five will have no problem sourcing foam, albeit at a higher price. It makes me wonder if products to make your own foam (pour and mix for all sorts of applications) will become scarce? Will new equipment reach a tipping point for consumers with inflation? Will bunnyman ever get to finish modding his pads?

I work in the electronics industry. It seems like every material is in short supply, and the consumer has been, and will continue to, pay for the demand. Economies of scale will win, so we'll continue to see smaller manufacturers get squeezed out by or absorbed into larger ones. The cycle of post-industrial life in a capitalist society with an ever-eroding democratic general ideology. 

I recall some big conversation around here in early 2020 about how Lefevre's pricing was much higher than every other manufacturer, and therefore ridiculous. Um... sure... Funny how things keep normalizing regardless of how much bitching humans do.

You got it, @dualshowman

I literally buy almost everything on sale. I won’t buy anything full-price unless it is custom. Even then, I am ever so wary about it. I have tweaked almost every pair of pads I have ever owned, just trying to get that “perfect” pad. Factory Mad is the closest, but even the ones I have aren’t perfect. I can’t wear my Vaughn breezers with those as the inseam gets caught; Warrior are perfect with those pads. The ILP is at the NHL max on those.