How to Choose New Gear Advice

MaskedMan13

Hi all,

I'm in the market to replace my gear but have no idea how to decide what is right for me. There seem to be endless options (open or closed leg channel, sliding toe bridge, single/double break, Professor Strap, that weird Y velcro strap, +1/+2, flat face/knee rolls, etc) and I have no idea how to choose between them all. What are the things you consider when choosing those options?

When I started playing goal butterfly hadn't taken off yet. I grew up in Reactors (think Mike Richter) and used those through college. I then got some V3s on clearance and have used those ever since. I never put much thought towards gear before. I just went off the shelf and strapped them on.

Now that the V3s have been worn out, I'm looking to get the right pads for me. I'm looking at Passau, Brown, Factory Mad, McKenney, etc for something custom and want to make sure I get it right. For anyone else who has gone custom, how did you choose between those brands when you couldn't see/touch them beforehand?

My issues with the V3s are that I'm under rotating and the thigh rises are pulling up and off the ice. I'm kind of lost if that has anything to do with their build vs CCM/Bauer or strapping or something else.

I do have a narrow butterfly and am short (5'6") so I'm pretty dependent on mobility and movement to cover the net. I've always tried to strap my pads tight so they "stick" on my legs and don't get get lost as I move around.

Any help/comments/suggestions anyone has is greatly appreciated.

Thanks