Integrated knee block

ThatCarGuy

This will be an interesting one. This is my first time opening up a leg pad and between school, work, and the occasional pick up game I doubt this will be a quick process. 
The pads undergoing this surgery are Vaughn LT88s. Very very flexible pads after years of use but definitely still a butterfly pad. 
AFA47FFF-4B04-4E5C-80C1-215ACE4245DD.thumb.jpeg.a1225467f745cfe402104b59058867f5.jpeg
The idea is simple: put two L shaped pieces of lexan around the pad’s core and knee block connecting them together and making it very difficult to bend.

EBC340C9-713A-4092-9966-E51009C8B911.thumb.jpeg.2f05bd6538c5d18a5c0f3e38d3011b0f.jpeg

2 minutes ago, RichMan said:

So something like Bauer's new line.

Different ways to achieve the same goal yes. My plan will sandwich the core rather than run through it. It’s meant to be cheaper and easier than bauers method. 
976E6949-84EC-41D1-8CD3-CF49DAF80FC8.thumb.jpeg.bf61957dd9561e7de1fc7a4fab6e9457.jpeg

Pad #1 has been opened at the cost of a thumb

5 hours ago, ThatCarGuy said:

Pretty much yes but minus the part where you cut into the core itself. I’m trying to make something that I can use on any leg pad

Lexan is cut to the right lengths just need to bend it and then lace the pad back up. 

then I recommend that you make one large L for the entire length and width of the knee block and the width of the pad, grasping both rows of lacingprof-4.thumb.jpeg.ed1fce357a986137c7299dfc881f203d.jpeg

also I would recommend using not lexan for this, because it is quite tough and fragile. it is best to use polyethylene 3mm

Edited by ser33

5 hours ago, ser33 said:

then I recommend that you make one large L for the entire length and width of the knee block and the width of the pad, grasping both rows of lacingprof-4.thumb.jpeg.ed1fce357a986137c7299dfc881f203d.jpeg

also I would recommend using not lexan for this, because it is quite tough and fragile. it is best to use polyethylene 3mm