Hip/Core Mobilization

A few folks wanted to take a look at some of my off ice routines...  I'll put some stuff together here. 

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, physical therapist, or in any related industry.  I've put together this stuff through some research, trial and error, and talking to various health professionals.  Some of my ideas may not be correct, and I am not claiming to be an authority on the subject.

Recommended tools:

Intro:

For most of us on this board, hockey has more or less fallen in priority on our totem poles as we have grown up and entered the workforce.  Those (like me) with kids have another added challenge of balancing time and energy.  Over the past couple years, I've put together a bit of a short routine to help.  The nice thing is this can be hammered out before bed while watching an episode or two on Netflix.

This is all really a combination of some stuff I've found from Maria Mountain (IG: goalietraining) and Dillon Kelley (IG: dkthemobilityguy) - so if you find this stuff helpful, definitely shoot them a follow as they helped me find some core principles. 

Basic Premise:

This post in particular is going to focus on the core, hip, and glute mobilization as it is something I struggled with after a couple knee injuries sustained in my early 20s.  When I hit 30, my hips seemed to become cranky and my range of motion was extremely limited. I've still got a ways to go to get them to where I was playing competitively, but I'm feeling much better these days and don't suffer from sore hips or knees, even after demanding skates.

Things to keep in mind before we get into the routine.

• When stretching, the key is to breathe.  Two beats in and three beats out.  You are sort of retraining your brain to accept that your stretch is your new range limit.
  • Slow and controlled movements, especially during the exercises.  You are learning and training your body to recruit more muscles in that local area to help you when you need them.