Sharpener Side Honed My Coated Steel

bildeer

Hello all, I recently had my mother take my skates to a shop that I had been patronizing for about seven years, and my skates have a black steel coating on them (graf) while I usually do not get them sharpened there, but as the place down the street from the store was closed, my mother took them to the shop in question where they proceeded to side hone the skates, thus removing the coating from the blades (you are not supposed to side hone black steel). When we called the owner of the shop and asked him why he side honed the skates, he said that it was because he felt that using the suggested method of using a piece of leather was insufficient. Naturally I am quite a bit upset that he would do that at the expense of my skate blades that now look as if they have been put through the garbage disposal. So my question to you all is whether my frustration is justified or if I am just off of my rocker.

Your frustration is completely justified.   Sorry this happened to you.

Moving forward, don't trust your mom with your gear if at all possible and make sure you always specify to anyone working on your behalf or on your gear EXACTLY what you want and what is and is not okay. 

Assuming and trusting too much in these situations will lead to frustration, so just do your best to make sure you can handle it yourself in the future.

• SaveByRichter35 changed the title to Sharpener Side Honed My Coated Steel
7 minutes ago, Puckstopper said:

^^ Exactly.   There is some shared culpability here as you made the decision to trust someone else with your skates but I'd say you'd be justified to ask for a discount on a pair of replacement blades. 

^^ yup.

This was your bad and their bad, simultaneously.

2 hours ago, seagoal said:

^^ yup.

This was your bad and their bad, simultaneously.