Beer League Playoffs

Mroy31

How do your beer leagues do playoffs? 

I've been playing in a league for the last 10 years or so where the playoff format is a 2 game series, 3 points wins.  So a win = 2 points, tie = 1 point.  Actual goals scored/game score doesn't matter outside of that one particular game.

• Win both games, you move on
  • Win first game, tie second, you move on
  • Win first game and lose second game, 5 minutes of 4 on 4 sudden death overtime
  • Overtime solves nothing?  5 player shootout

I actually really like this for a beer league.  It gives the feeling of a series, but is compact enough to do in a once a week league and you don't play the other team sooooo many times that you're ripping each others heads off by the end of it.

It does have a few nuances that can sometimes suck though, depending on which side of the coin you are on.  You can lose the first game 10-0, then win the second game 1-0, then win in overtime/shootout and it kind of makes the first game meaningless if you can generate enough momentum in game 2.  That sucks for the first game's winner, but you can argue you should close it out in game 2 if you're that much better.  One season in the semi finals, we won the first game 5-1, then lost the second game 1-0, went to a shootout where we lost in the 7th round on the only goal scored by either team.  So that's frustrating as a goalie :P

The other detail that changes depending on the division size is the bracket.  Typically it's a normal 1 vs 8 etc.  But if there are 10 teams, then the first 2 weeks of playoffs will be a play-in between the bottom 4 to make the top 8.  Or this year (which sucked because of how they split the divisions), we have 6 teams, so the bottom 4 played the play-in, while the top 2 just beat up on each other for 2 weeks getting real riled up before they play whichever 2 teams make it through.