True 580

Sup_ya_sieve

I’ve never had the pleasure of trying a 580. Currently in warrior g6 and have had warrior gloves past few years. 

I’ve been thinking about ordering a 580 (based on this forum i may get it in 2025) but it is scary to drop the capital without ever trying it.

can anyone share their experience when making the change good or bad? Should i just make the jump?

On 5/15/2021 at 11:23 AM, bildeer said:

The 580 and 590 offer different feels and pocket orientation with respect to hand position. Notice how the 580 gives more vertical coverage than the 590, and despite appearing to be an old spec glove from before the sizing regulations that we use today, this is still true with the current spec of 580's. Because of this, the motion that is used to close the glove resembles a "thumbs up" with your fingers flat on your palm.  I have been using this style of glove for almost 6 years now and found early on that it trivializes shots that are directed just over the leg pad (i.e. low glove one timers). 

The 590, on the other hand (get it?) offers more lateral coverage with respect to the orientation of the pocket. In theory, you could achieve more vertical coverage with the glove by utilizing the "fingers up" orientation of holding your glove. There is a potential issue of covering space in places where pucks won't go anywhere near the net (like above the crossbar). This is what I used when I was using my Vaughn T7600 back in my early days. 

I think glove position determines which style glove you use, but at the end of the day, they are two different ways to achieve the same task: catching the puck.

I made this post a couple of years ago regarding a similar query. Back in 2015 I made the switch from a Vaughn velocity 4 7600 to a reebok xlt 580, which for all intents and purposes is pretty much the same thing as the True 580 you are referring to and the Reebok premier 3 that was introduced all those years ago.