CCM Premier Pro Chest Protector

mr_shifty1982

This is my first review so bare with me.  My thoughts and reactions about the CCM Premier Pro chesty.

First of, when I started playing ice hockey as a goalie 7-8 ago I got a Reebok chesty, played with it for an hour (mind you I sucked so bad!) and sold it because it was the most uncomfortable, stiff equipment I have ever put on. I put down $400 and got a Bauer Pro chesty. I never looked back until now…..

Coming from a Bauer NXG chesty…..

I started having more of an interest with the CCM chesty when I seen more NHL goalies wear it and initially the size really had me wondering.

The unit is HUGE, I look like a transformer, for sure more coverage than my NXG even though it was a good size.

Even though the chesty is big, not big but HUGE, it isn’t as stiff as it looks.  The NXG took me about 5-6 games to break in but even that didn’t feel right.  I felt comfortable in the CCM right away, the wrist part was soft, the shoulders moved well and the unit wasn’t very stiff, and light did I mention? I was surprised.  My NXG is heavier than the CCM, sorry I don’t have the weight in, the chesty doesn’t feel any heavier as the game goes on like the NXG did from build up sweat.  The elbow blocks are soft and big.  The chesty does run low on your arms, but you can adjust it.  I’m used to that because the NXG ran low, just took time getting used to. The shoulder floaters are massive, and due to the adjustable velcro straps you can move them for maximum coverage (left to right), which I have.  The good thing about this chesty is all the adjustable velcro straps, to move it for your liking, your height,  size, etc. 

The rib protection is great as you can see, really protects you all around but the only issue I’m having is the rib protection riding up a little when I get ready for a shot, gets in the way of my armpits but within time I’m sure that it will soften and set.