CCM Extreme Flex Shield II Pro C/A

ZeroGravitas

Hi all. I just purchased the CCM Extreme Flex Shield II Pro C/A (size Medium) the other day and wanted to share my thoughts since there doesn't appear to be much feedback regarding these chest pads. This first post is basically the background and first impressions, with a more detailed review to follow after I get it on-ice for several skates.

Background

I've been playing pretty regularly for the past 14-15 years. The chest and arm units I've used during that period are as follows:

Vaughn Vision 3700

CCM Heaton H5 Pro-stock

Koho 589 Pro

CCM Premier 1 Pro (not to be confused with CCM's current Premier line)

Passau Gen 1

I liked my latest acquisition, a used Passau G1, quite a bit, except for the fatal flaw of the G1 units - there was almost no protection on the upper arm/bicep area. The mobility and comfort was excellent, but I was just getting too many dead arms and was getting a little puck shy as a result. I'm lucky to live near a Goalie Monkey store and was able to try on all the new pro level chest protectors that the big hockey companies are current selling. I tried them all briefly in the store - the Vaughn V8 and SLR, the Bauer 2S Supreme and 1X Vapor, the Warrior G4 and the CCM Premier and Brian's Optik. I was looking for something slim and mobile, with good rib protection and good arm protection. None of them felt right; except for the Shield II, so I pulled the trigger in the special Monkey colorway.

First Impressions

20181205_174109_HDR.thumb.jpg.b9169b04d3b3a099408adc2b95c4a522.jpg

First impression - damn, that looks cool. And it looks so much smaller than the CCM Premier!