Baking Used Skates

Wonder35

I have recently acquired a pair of used Graf Goaler Pros. Yeah, the Old Guy is going without cowlings!

When I had them sharpened one of the skate guys asked if I was having them baked. His co-worker said that this model  wasn't a candidate.  Mine are the model with chrome logos one the outside of the boot, a few years old.

What do the Goalie Network Experts say?

8 minutes ago, coopaloop1234 said:

I'm no expert on Graf skates, but aren't the Goaler Pros a cowling skate?

https://scoffshockey.ca/products/grafgoalerpro750skate-senior

https://www.ebay.com/itm/313141624510

I can see the Peakspeed and ProG are the cowlingless skates?

Yes, I neglected to mention that mine have Bauer Vertex 2.0 blades. Mea Culpa.

They are an updated model from the links you posted. The newer ones, like mine, have a chrome logo on the outside ankle area, less leather and more synthetic material.

Edited by Wonder35

8 minutes ago, Wonder35 said:

Yes, I neglected to mention that mine have Bauer Vertex 2.0 blades. Mea Culpa.

They are an updated model from the links you posted. The newer ones, like mine, have a chrome logo on the outside ankle area, less leather and more synthetic material.

So are they a cowling skate that's had the cowling removed and had the vertexx holder attached?

46 minutes ago, coopaloop1234 said:

So are they a cowling skate that's had the cowling removed and had the vertexx holder attached?

That is correct. I also have the original Graf cowlings for these updated skates which can be used for my 20 year old leather Grafs.

I want to try these newly acquired ones to try out no cowling skates.

I simply wondered whether or not they will take a baking process.

Edited by Wonder35

3 hours ago, Wonder35 said:

That is correct. I also have the original Graf cowlings for these updated skates which can be used for my 20 year old leather Grafs.

I want to try these newly acquired ones to try out no cowling skates.