Kenesky R Series Set Review in 3 parts

Chenner29

I was asked by @TheGoalNet to write up a review for my experience with Kenesky.  I figured I would do it in three parts, and three separate posts:

1. Decision, commitment, and ordering
  2. First impressions
  3. 30 day review.

So let's get down to business - this post will cover my decision process, why I decided to go with Kenesky, and how the ordering and dreaded wait time has gone.

Background:

I started playing again about 4 months ago after a 2 year layoff.  Balancing family time (newborn daughter), a demanding work schedule (50+ hour work weeks), along with my other commitments became too much of a challenge and I had to decide what to cut.  I got the itch one day, found a game I could sub for, and have been playing ever since.  We have since added another kid (son) and a change in line of work has reduced my work week to about 30 hours.  Along with a better home life balance, my new role also allows me a bit of play money.  I've also committed to a Pro's Choice mask(961 clone) with Cipra paint (on the way to him now!) and a pair of True skates (about 2-4 weeks out at this point) in around the same time frame. 

I am currently playing in CCM Eflex 1s.  They are a nice pad, but slightly too big.  I went with a 34"+3 but really I should be in a 33"+2.  I've since cut these down to about a +2.

I am lucky to live near GoalieMonkey in Southern California, so I demoed a couple sets that I was interested in:

• Eflex 3
    • I liked the addition of the D30 in the palm of the catch and the finger in the index finger on the blocker.
    • Did not like the pads.  The balance point on these felt off.  Marginal improvement with slides.
    • I've also noticed a lot of these on the secondary market - raised a red flag for me.
  • Bauer 1X
    • The skin on the set I demoed was cut and torn in various places.  Not impressive for an $1800 pad.