Some Basic/Newbie Questions About My Gear

CelestialBurden

So I started playing less than a year ago and I’ve been tucking in my chest protector most of that time. My pants have an (removable) internal belt so it’s a little bit awkward and the chest protector pops out sometimes. I recently tried removing the internal belt to see if that helped, but I found that the front flap on the pants would not stay up as a result and completely flopped forward. Is it supposed to go under the chest protector even though I'm tucking? Or is it supposed to go on top of the chest protector so that every part of the pants is outside of your chest protector? If so, how do you keep the front flap from flopping over?

Most goalie pants I've seen have some sort of lacing on the front, but mine don't. However, I did just discover there are loops on the front of the pants. I assume this is for skate lace and somehow integrating this with the chest protector to hold up the flap and connect the chesty and pants, but I’m not sure how to tie it all up. Does anyone have any pictures of how they’ve done it?

The chesty has two types of loops on the belly. How do you integrate the thicker loop and thinner loops on the front of the chest protector? Do those tie into the pants? Or to my jock, which also has thin loops on the top? Also, what are the loops on the inside of the chest protector for?

Lastly, I’ve been using Bauer suspenders to try to keep everything in place and prevent my chest protector from popping out of the pants, especially in the front, but I feel like the extra cloth just hangs off an awkward way and maybe I have set them up incorrectly. Is this how they should look or is there some better way to do it?

I've attached pictures of everything mentioned above with arrows to make it easy. Thanks a lot!

IMG_7825.jpg

IMG_7828.jpg

IMG_7827.jpg

IMG_7826.jpg

IMG_7829.jpg

• Like 2

Welcome to the union!