The Evolution Of Pad Design

Doobiesnax

I'm just getting into playing again after about 15 years and wondered into the local hockey mega store.....  WTF happened to pads?  I'm assuming that as the predominant style of play has gone extreme butterfly the pads shaped changed to accomodate five hole coverage?  Just goofing around with some new sets they seemed more like formed boards than the pads that i once wore  (Last set were Vaughn Visions circa 98). 

This style.

vaughn-vision-vpg-3500-leg-pads-34_1_6e1d05b9f451dc44c2a386682a05826c.jpg.51d99c0ba642a2c1f0783cc24b4d8521.jpg

Can someone give me a quick breakdown of what and why the design seemed to change so drastically?  I have never felt as old as i do right now.... and i'm only 36 lol.

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You're pretty much correct about the butterfly taking over pad design. Or more likely that the pad design has changed to facilitate a stronger butterfly approach.

With the flat face, squared top and mostly square boot (tapers do exist, kinda), today's pads are designed to maximize the space they can take up as well as translate to efficient butterfly style moves. Like backside recoveries and new post integration techniques.

While most of the pads are moving towards the stiff style, there are still a few "soft" pads available. Velocity, Gnetik and CCM. But, newer versions of these do incorporate all of the new philosophies in their overall shape, aside from more flex in the main areas (boot, knee, thigh) and possible torsional flex. These pads will break in and soften up eventually, but they do remain stiffer than what you're going to be used to.

It's funny, I had a pair of Boddams as a youngster that were very similar to this new squared off style.  Where more flat foam rather than the traditional tubular design.  Were made from some sort of synthetic and had clips instead of buckles.... i guess Boddam was ahead of its time back then!

2 hours ago, Doobiesnax said: