Change steel or buy skates?

kippewit

Hi

I'm fairly new to goaltending (doing it for 1,5 years now) and I noticed the blades of my skates get dull really really fast. I mean: I have them sharpened (tried different radius), the first 20 minutes I cannot skate properly anymore because of the edges. The next time I'm in them, I have no problems at all. The third time, they already feel like "I should really have them sharpened" again, and I start getting trouble again with pushing for butterfly slides.

The steel is the one that came with the skates. Those are Bauer Reactor 6000 skates which I picked up 1,5 years ago for only €180 because they were discontinued. They are a little bit roomy left and right side on the front part of my foot, but fairly ok size wise. Anyway. I don't want to re-sharpen my skates every 4 hours, so here are the options I am considering:

1. I heard many good things about step steel. I would consider the standard step steel. I heard the extreme step steel would be overkill on the cowlings I have (Vertexx cowling). However, I can only find the extreme version in Europe, which means I should order from Canada / US. = ridiculous shipping costs + import taxes. It would be almost € 180 in total. (Update: I found a shop in Germany where I can order them, but it will cost € 120)
  2. Go for new skates, because I heard the steel on the new skates is way better. And since my current skates are a little bit too wide in front. But maybe I'm just telling that to myself to justify buying new skates. I would opt for Bauer Vapor x900 or Bauer Supreme S190. Price for both is around € 320 each. I heard good things about the angles you can make with those skates, but all those "Wow I'm impressed by the angle" comments are from people who had really old super-heavy cowlings before. Maybe the angle difference between the S190 / x900 and the Vertexx cowling isn't that big?

Thanks for your advice!