Knee is Landing under Knee Block | Vaughn Ventus SLR2

Gruia Radu

I’ve been using my SLR2 pads for a couple months now, and i’ve had no problems as they fit perfectly. All of a sudden, a few practices ago, my knee started landing way under the knee block when i went down. what could be the cause of this, what should i alter in order to get my knee square on the block when i go down into the butterfly? i wear a 33+2. i attached pictures of my strapping and knee landing. i’ve tried different strapping variations and decided that having you guys take a look and giving some advice would help me tons. 

3A44CED7-843F-40CD-91A2-0D956DF56750.jpeg

552DAF6B-0ED7-49BB-AF3B-86F53044DA8A.jpeg

7F228C19-5300-4655-B2F8-21D8CDFF18E2.jpeg

Edited by Gruia Radu

• Gruia Radu changed the title to Knee is Landing under Knee Block | Vaughn Ventus SLR2

my pants are actually small, the shell goes a few inches over the pant padding. i didn’t have my suspenders on so they were hanging way lower than they would during play. do you think if i tightened my toe ties it would hold the pad lower on my leg?

Edited by Gruia Radu

Can't see your toe ties, but if you're using skate lace, I suggest moving to elastic when possible.  You have a professor strap on there already.  If that were my pad, I would remove the heel buckle and knee elastic altogether (how my Warrior pads are now).  I would bet you the pad would function the same if not better.  It looks very crowded at the knee, and things could be binding up.  Since that may be too drastic of a change, at minimum, I would pull the knee elastic down to the calf instead of across to open up the knee channel a bit (how I used to wear my Warriors).  Seeing the inner landing padding bending into the side of your knee from the knee strap could be causing an issue with your knee pads.  Just a guess and some suggestions.  Hope your issue gets resolved.

What type do you use? From your comments, I'd assume skate lace.