Harrison Mask Thread

If I'm about to show you my Greg Harrison Combo then you're going to pay a price, my intro to the story of how this rank amateur goalie became the owner of one mighty fine mask.

In the mid 80's I took a high, hard one to the right eye when my defenseman nailed me with the heel of his stick as he took down an opposition player in the high crease area.  My Cooper "Broomball" cat eye cage  collapsed at a weld and raked my eye pretty good. The stitches weren't a big deal, above and below my eye. I am a 35 year veteran Air Traffic Controller and there ain't no one eyed ones. I had to lie on my back for 48 hours while the blood drained to see if I had any permanent eye damage.  Good news - no damage, still have a job.

A friend who worked in a local sports store gave me Greg Harrison's phone number. I had to phone. As expected, Greg explained that he was busy, very busy, keeping up with the orders he had from Pro's for their new masks or updated paint jobs. Somehow we got to talking about aircraft. His shop was in a small industrial complex near to Toronto Pearson International Airport. I told him what I did for a living and after some more talk Greg was building me a custom Harrison mask. "It would take 6 months" he said.

I got to sit in his beat up, old barber's chair and have a mould (Cdn spelling) made of my mug. About 8 months later he called to say that my mask was ready.  We lived in Oshawa, Ontario, which on a good traffic day was about an hour east of Toronto airport and Greg's shop.  Greg quoted me a price of $300 for the mask and an additional $300 for a custom paint job.

My team, The Oshawa Antiques, were sporting Flyers colours so the mask was painted Orange/Black/White. Greg "wasn't into numbers" so I bought some peel and stick sheets and slapped the numeral 35 on its chin.  Somewhere in a box there are some slides of that mask, maybe later .........