Am I the only one whos used a glove for as long as i have, and if not how long have you been using your catcher?

ThomasRedden

for context i have had two gloves in my nine years playing goaltender. my first glove was a Vaughn lt 98, two  years into use i got a koho lefeve 600 break, i disliked this glove so much that i went back to my Vaughn. i have been using my Vaughn for 8 years total now, had anyone else used a glove (or any other equipment for that matter) for that long? for context as of making this post, this glove has not broken in any way, i have relaced the pocket in favor of skate lace. the construction lace holding the glove together is still intact (but frayed as you would expect) theres no finger curl and it closes like nothing you've ever seen before, as you'd expect out of a 8 years of concurrent use glove. additional context it is still in use for a 2-6 ice time a week schedule. ignoring all my oversharing, has anyone else gotten this much life out of a glove?

• Like 1

I thought my Simmons 998 glove was more than a decade old but after doing some searching the GSBB Simmons forum on way back, it appears to have come out in 2014.  So about 10 years now.  Just starting to semi retire it.  My 995 c/a is apparently from around 2008.  Trying to slowly replace that currently.  

I stopped playing in 2018 but I used my Koho Revolution 500 off and on since 1996.  I did try many other gloves that were way newer but none of them felt right so I’d always find myself going back to the 500. 

With glove prices going up the way they have been, I think you'll start to see a lot more people follow suit to sticking with what they have. 

Hell, if you asked me a month ago, I would've told you I was probably going to get a new set come spring/summer. With how prices keep increasing due to "inflation" (though somehow it's way higher than the inflation rate) and how happy I am with my set, I highly doubt I'll be dropping any cash for new gear.