Uber for Goalies

TheGoalNet

There's a site called pickuphub.net that does more than just hockey, and is pretty local to my area in Southern Ontario, but it's also pretty useful for getting some extra icetimes.  Sign up, then see available games and reserve your spot.  Games only get played if enough players sign up, and you only get charged if the game is played.  Would be nice if they waived the fee for goalies, but it's a fairly young service. 

I would love to sign up as a rent-a-goalie.  Does anyone else remember that show on Showcase in Canada?  So good. (I don't know if it holds up, but I enjoyed it at the time :P)

https://hockey-community.com/

- Free
- Some local leagues use it to schedule/stat track
- Easy to use
- Can find either goalies/Players by skill level
- Direct notifications via mobile app

When I started playing goal, this site was a god send for me finding ice times. I'm currently abusing the crap out of it in the summer too.

Being able to go from 1 ice time a week to 3-4 for just drop ins and fill ins via this app definitely makes it worth it.

7 minutes ago, Kayen said:

Local goalies are looked down upon by the other goalies by asking to getting paid to play, and using this app. 

I definitely understand that mindset. There's enough goalies here that finding one is rarely an issue. Plus we already play for free, no need to push our luck and ask to be paid.

The only time I've been paid to play is the payment is an incentive to not get undressed and instead play another game. But that's strictly out of last minute desperation. Anyone who's able to plan a day in advance ever really has any issues finding a guy to play for free.

27 minutes ago, coopaloop1234 said:

I definitely understand that mindset. There's enough goalies here that finding one is rarely an issue. Plus we already play for free, no need to push our luck and ask to be paid.