Goldilocks and the 3 Pairs ... (of knee pads)

Mroy31

I'll try to keep this as point form as possible, because I tend to get long winded sometimes and there are a lot of points to cover.  I've got a narrow butterfly and so my knees close my five hole, not the tops of my pads.  I've spent the last few years figuring out what knee pads work best for me.  I've almost always needed volleyball knee pads or the padded Bauer base layer pants.  With those just now starting to have some of the padded sections coming apart, and switching to the Oneiric Genesis base layer, I started playing around with lots more options.  Had been in the Bauer Supreme 1st gen yellow-inside ones, then 1S until this switch.  Also I wear hockey socks over all of these.  Here we go...

678436461_allthree.thumb.jpg.3c7343aa23272d6c3a42b3bb4d59c343.jpg

Stock Models

Bauer 1S

Pros

• Anchor strap keeps my knee in the knee cradle
  • Grippy material on the top knee strap
  • Not very bulky
  • No stingers

Cons

• Top thigh strap too tight.  It either leaves hook velcro exposed to rub against your base layer if you do it looser, or is so tight it forces its way down your thigh and can bunch up
  • Knee cradle padding is not great, well documented elsewhere
  • Loops to attach to garter belt require either skate lace tying, or adding some kind of slick clip
  • Needed a garter belt

Note the size difference between these and the Vaughns, and also the different loops to attach to either pants or garter belt

2112848281_1SvsV7width.thumb.jpg.b83486f6a1bcfa1f212caa535a5ab160.jpg

Here is the well documented knee cradle.  Not super comfortable.

1092570751_1Skneecradle.thumb.jpg.a3e15b9469eae5d08853f3fc7f67a686.jpg

Vaughn V7 Pro XR

Pros

• Very comfortable, pretty much right sized for my legs
  • Grippy material on top thigh strap
  • Thigh strap was right sized, not too tight, no worries wearing it looser
  • No additional knee padding needed in the knee cradle