Warrior R/GT2 Chest Protector Review

motowngoalie

Hey everyone! Here's my review of the R/GT2 senior chesty from Warrior. This is my first attempt at a long form review, so please feel free to critique :) 

I'll do initial impressions, and then a 1-2 month impression (I'm only playing once a week currently), and then long-term consensus in a few months or so.

Anyways, let's jump in:

Chest Protector History
Vaughn VP5500
Vaughn V5 (unsure of exact model)
Brian’s Zero G
Warrior G2 Sr w/ G1 Pro arms

Initial Impressions

Very bulky. As @BonesDT said in the Bauer Vs. Warrior thread, this thing is beastly for a senior C/A. I don’t believe it’s NHL-spec (which I’m not overly concerned with). Very adjustable, I’ve counted at least 9 places per side with the ability to adjust. It also sits noticeably higher than my G2, but my mask interferes less with the floaters on this unit.

IMG_20190618_215020604.thumb.jpg.1288030a2b97a71765ae3e592cd37797.jpgIMG_20190618_215040597.thumb.jpg.eec9119890deea178d6ee950dd8bf433.jpg

The chest portion of my G2 is adequately protective, it’s the arms that are sorely lacking (hence the upgrade to G1 pro arms). This unit doesn’t have the same problem. Looking at the GT2 compared to the Bauer S2.9 and Brian’s B-Star (the 2 other non-pro units I was interested in), these arms feel the most protective. The foams are noticeably harder than the other 2 mentioned, and I’m really impressed with the triple layer of protection at the elbows. 2 additional pieces on either side of the bicep area do a nice job of covering the upper arm. As Bones also noted, there's zero gap between your arms and sides when your arms are in a natural relaxed position. I'm really interested to see how this goes, as I'm used to squeezing my arms to my torso while playing.