Airbrushed My Own Mask! Complete Beginner, 300+ hours of work total.

kylewesbury

I finally made it to college (Liberty University) and decided it was time for a custom mask after 11 years of playing the game. Initially contacted grangroth graphics in hopes of having him paint it. We got pretty far into the design process. But the more I researched the art of airbrushing, the more I wanted to pick it up and try it myself to give myself full creative freedom and possibly make a business out of this. I mean, DaveArt and JBo had to start somewhere, right? Might as well save some money and do it myself!

So I did that. 

After 300+ hours of work (including researching hardware, techniques, test runs on old masks, designing the art in photoshop, and painting the final product), I am proud to release the final product. Really happy with how it turned out, and looking forward to doing some for others! 

(P.S.: This is in no way a degradation of professional mask painters! I have a tremendous amount of respect for all of the work they do. This also wouldn’t have been possible without the advice of JBo Airbrushing (Carey Price’s half man half machine mask painted) as he was there to give me helpful advice all along the way! Be sure to check out his work, he’s an amazing guy and extremely talented as well.)

D1C5B8E3-B48A-4AAF-8C92-E6EBF6731B7A.jpeg

A57EC9B9-2C39-4D9C-BCB4-4B327F32CD05.jpeg

4D19D3BE-D0DC-41EA-9776-E5A74FC8C4B6.png

6F4211DA-649B-477E-A79A-F8D1372C8EC0.png

31 minutes ago, kylewesbury said: