Baselayer thread

RichMan

Thought I'd start a talk on what's out there, different brands and models. Compression or loose fit.

I prefer a loose kind of fit, not too tight. The set I've been using for the past 2 decades, the pant waist elastic has finally let go and they don't hold up as well anymore. Unfortunately the brand doesn't exist anymore. The replacement I got was the Source for Sports kit. Cheaper priced, not the best quality. I'm guessing they'll last a season or 2 at most.

Your turn. 

*mods, if this isn't the right forum, please do your thing. Thanks 

Vaughn padded compression pant, helped me not have to decide on knee pads. Comfy.

Older padded Shock Doctor compression long sleeve. Pity they're no longer making them. I flip flop between that and Powertek padded long sleeve. Dunno if those are in still around either.

Bauer Core 2.0 compression pants, which help prevent muscle pulls, and has a built in pouch for an additional cup underneath the goal jock (if preferred) matched with loose fit, long-sleeved, moisture-wicking under armor or Bauer top.  This combo stays light and warm even when wet and doesn’t get stinky. 

Before you think I'm nuts keep in mind I have arthritis in both knees and hips having played goal for 50 years. I wear mcdavid compression shorts knee sleeve braces on both knees bracelayer pants and Bauer long pants with the built in knee padding then the warrior 3x pro knee guards. Seems like over kill but it's the only way to keep playing.

Went to a local NHL team's locker room sale a year or two back and got several Under Armour pants. They look like this - https://www.icewarehouse.com/Under_Armour/descpage-UAHCL20.html?from=gshop&gad_source=1 but have grippy material on the shins. I think they were $20 each, brand new.

I don't need the velcro sock tabs or grip, but $20 for Under Armour pants seemed like a great deal.