Injuries of the trade

Lucky Pucker

I’m not sure what this thread will be exactly, but in part I just want to vent about how pissed off, depressed, and aggravated I am with my grade 1 MCL sprain/minor tear. I mean, I just started playing goalie in March, was taking weekly lessons, and already managed to get regular gigs with a few pickup games. It was starting to come together! Then that feckin “pop” happened... 

Part of my self-inflicted misery therapy was to look up “MCL” and “goalie,” and several interesting threads from the old GSBB came up. Couldn’t find any here though, so would there be any interest? Any thoughts from those of you who came over...? And it doesn’t have to be MCL- frankly, as I have no medical training, you could probably make up a condition and I’d believe it was legit - lol!

Misery loves company, right?

My IR sheet:

-Groin pull in January 2009

-Groin pull in October 2010 

-Groin pull in November 2010 [AKA RIP junior career]

-Hamstring strain/lower back issues in June 2013 [due to malnutrition from a prolonged stomach virus of sorts]

-Groin pull in July 2017

-Groin pull in August 2017

I've been battling tight hips for a while, and have never felt the same since 2013. I felt amazing for a while in 2012 and early 2013. I do a lot of standing at my job, and don't do the upkeep I should given my history. Lately I've had these weird, achy hips last two months. One side feels "burny" when I stretch it too much. Between that and the emptiness I feel when playing the last year and a quarter I've been in constant debate to hang up the pads. Feels like a chore sometimes, and yet I do it still. That and captaining a team is a pain in the ass.

Edited by Moose75

• Injuries from specific events
    • Left knee ACL reconstruction
    • Meniscectomy in both knees (largely from multiple radial tears)
    •  5 Concussions
  • Genetic Predisposition/Overworked Hip Joint