Anyone recently start skating out for fun? How's that going?

dstew29

Recently getting the itch to buy some new or used player gear to skate out from time to time. Have a young one who will hopefully start skating in next few years and wanted to be ready for that too.

Plus I just like a new challenge so I think it would be a good change up from just playing goalie 100% of the time. How are you liking it for anyone else that's tried this.

I've always found skating out for a few games here and there is a great way to purge all the negativity I sometimes build up in my head when playing net.   It's nice to not have the entire weight of the game on your shoulders for a little while.   Then, after a few games I get bored of NOT having final responsibility and scurry back to the crease.

Regardless, I feel like I've got a better grasp of the game having played both ways and it definitely helps my stickhandling in net.

I have done this on and off since I started playing as a goalie. I still do this now, and I love the challenge, although it's not as physically demanding as being in the net. I love skating super hard for about a minute, then getting off. Not a fan of the five minute coasting-around shift. One thing that is an issue for me, in particular: Skating out with lower-level skaters is risky. I feel the same way in net, but less so for obvious reasons. If I'm skating out, and I don't think the the hockey IQ and the level of fundamental ability is good enough to ensure a baseline level of safety, I'll split. 

Yeah, I started doing this twenty-plus years ago. I was going to play with groups that may or may not already have two goalies. So instead of being the third goalie or not playing that night, I could skate out on those nights.