How Important is Gear Hygiene to You?

bunnyman666

I had a rash that would not go away years back, so I try to be festidious about drying my gear and letting it air out. 

I tried sprays of all sorts, and whilst some masked odours very well, the odour did return if not treated continously. Nothing is a substitute for good, old fashioned air.

I have discovered the Peet’s boot dryer. Others have discovered the Rocket Dryer. Some of you even have your own dedicated drying rooms!

How important is gear hygiene to you?

Shop GoalieMonkey.com Now!
  • Replies 149
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm a germophobe so I've always been a little over the top with gear hygiene. I spray the inside/soft surfaces with disinfectant and let it air dry. I spray it, stuff it in my bag and then hang it up when I get back to my locker (I'm a high school coach and we have nice locker stalls for the coaches in our rink) or on a clothes tree at home. Never had smell issues even through college.

One of my buddies had a bag with a fan on it and also had a boot dryer that he setup in his dorm room. 

The main condition from my wife for me to start to play hockey again after a 25 year layoff was ensure that my gear does not stink.  To that end - base layers are washed after every skate, daily spraying of De-stink on all gear, Rocket Dryer for the CA, boot dryer for skates and gloves, and everything else air drys on a rack.

The funny part about my wife's mandate was that the only reason she knew that hockey gear stank was because she had opened my 80's era bag and almost passed out from the stench.

Conclusion - I actually like having clean gear!